The mission of Henderson County Schools is to provide extraordinary educational opportunities for every student.

Henderson County Schools

Skip to main content
| Login
Mobile Menu

Henderson County school board honored this month


Mrs. Tracey Williams, Mr. Kirk Haynes, Mr. Thomas Alves, Mr. Mike Waller, and Mr. Wesley Smith are among the more than 850 school board members in the state’s 171 local school districts being recognized this month for their service.


“This is the perfect time to thank school board members for serving in a role that has become increasingly complex,” said Davonna Page, President of the Kentucky School Boards Association and member of the Russellville Independent school board.


“Members of the Henderson County Board of Education are responsible for making decisions aimed at ensuring that every child in their district has a chance to be successful both in school and in life,” Page continued. “To do that, members oversee a district budget, keep up with changing education laws and policies, and spend hours on professional learning and state-mandated training.”


“The voters in our community have elected these local leaders, who work to give every child in every classroom access to high-quality teaching and learning,” said Dr. Bob Lawson, Superintendent of Henderson County Schools.  


Lawson also noted, “At a time when state and federal funding continues to shrink, our school board members haven’t flinched in the face of the challenges or shied away from their responsibilities. Our community can be very proud of this team of board members, and I’m proud to be their partner in striving for education excellence for our children.”


During January, please use social media to share your appreciation of school board members by using the hashtag #LoveKySchoolBoards.



Published Print